The Philip Larkin Society & East Riding Poetry Prize 2014

Poet Don Paterson will be judging this year’s Philip Larkin Society and East Riding Poetry Prize, in addition to our East Riding Young Poet’s Prize. To download an application, please visit our website.

 Deadline: April 14, 2014
Entry fee: £4.00
Prize: £1000
Deadline: www.bridlington-poetry-festival.com/The-2014-Philip-Larkin–East-Riding-Poetry-Prize-page-5.html 

 Crab Orchard Review Annual Literary Contests

 The Richard Peterson Poetry Prize, Jack Dyer Fiction Prize, & John Guyon Literary nonfiction contests are now open for submission. One winner and at least two finalists will be chosen in each category (there is no theme for the Literary Prize entries; just send your best work). The three category winners will be published and the finalists offered publication (with a payment of $500) in the next Winter/Spring issue ofCrab Orchard Review.

Deadline: April 21, 2014
Entry fee: $22.50 per entry (additional entries $10; up to two additional entries). All entrants receive a year subscription ($20 value), additional entries receive one-back issue each entry
Prize: $2000 and publication for each genre winner (finalists are offered $500 and publication)

 Micro Fiction Contest 2014

 The Escuela Delengua’s micro fiction contest is back! Spanish is something that united us and we like to teach Spanish as a foreign language. This is why the theme of this year’s contest is learning Spanish. This contest is open to people that are interested in the Spanish and Hispanic language and culture. Submit a 100-character story in English, Italian, French, German or Spanish.

Deadline: April 27, 2014
Entry fee: none
Prize: 2-week intensive Spanish course

 The Out in Print Literary Award 2014

 The award is open to qualifying applicants of any age and nationality. The Out in Print Literary Award 2014 is intended for female-identified writers within the queer and/or trans spectrum who have never before been published in book form. The intention of this award is to promote the voices of marginalized female-identified folk within literature, and one winner will be selected to have their work published in Canada.

Deadline: April 30, 2014
Entry fee: none
Prize: $3500 cash, book design and layout, and a book launch covered by Egale in Toronto in early 2015

 Burt Award for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Literature

Eligible manuscripts and books published between May 1, 2012 and April 30, 2014 must be submitted by publishers. Publishers of the winning titles will be awarded a guaranteed purchase of a minimum of 2500 copies to be distributed to First Nations, Métis and Inuit youth across the country.

Deadline: May 1, 2014
Entry fee: none
Prize: 1st prize: $12,000; 2nd prize $8000; 3rd prize: $5000

 Black Orchid Novella Award

 Each entry must be an original unpublished work of fiction of between 15,000 – 20,000 words that conforms to the tradition of the Nero Wolfe series.

Deadline: May 31, 2014
Entry fee: none
Prize: $1000 and publication in Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine
Details:  http://tinyurl.com/ne2mfvh 

 The Taming of Chance Story Competition

 The Fields Institute for Research in Mathematical Sciences has partnered up with the American Statistical Association in launching a speculative fiction competition that calls on writers to imagine a world where the normal curve had never been discovered. Stories will be following in the tradition of Gibson and Sterling’s steampunk classic, The Difference Engine, in creating an imaginative alternate history that sparks the imagination.

Deadline: June 1, 2014
Entry fee: none
Prize: $2000 grand prize, with an additional $1500 in cash available for youth submissions.

 The Launceston, Tasmania Literary Award, 2014

 The Society of Women Writers, Tasmania Inc. is pleased to announce the inaugural, open to all writers worldwide, The Launceston, Tasmania Literary Award, 2014. With fabulous prizes on offer!

Deadline: June 13, 2014
Entry fee: none
Prize: 1st prize: AUD$2500; 2nd prize: AUD$750; 3rd prize: AUD$500

 The 2014 Dave Greber Freelance Writers Awards

 The Dave Greber Freelance Writers Awards have been established to empower freelance social justice writers as they move toward final publication of a book or magazine article. The winners are announced on the website and their profiles updated as they move forward in their career.

Deadline: June 13, 2014
Entry fee: none
Prize: $5000; however, if there are two entries of equal merit, an award of $2500 will be granted to each writer.


Leave a comment


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s